

MEDIA RELEASE

Contact Information:

Towong Shire Council Communications 1300 365 222 communications@towong.vic.gov.au

Release Date: Immediate release

Towong Shire Celebrates 2025 Australia Day Awards and Welcomes New Citizens

The 2025 Australia Day Community Awards took place across the shire on Sunday, January 26. The ceremony honoured individuals, community groups, and businesses that have made significant contributions to their communities throughout the year.

Councillors attended celebrations at various locations to recognise and present awards to the winners. Each winner was acknowledged for their outstanding contributions and achievements, highlighting the importance of their efforts within the community.

Mayor Andrew Whitehead led the Citizenship ceremony in Corryong, welcoming six new Australian Citizens to the Towong Shire.

These new citizens, originally from Nigeria, Philippines, United Kingdom, and New Zealand, proudly took their citizenship pledge during the Australia Day Award ceremony.

"It was truly an honour to celebrate the remarkable achievements of those who have enriched our communities and to warmly welcome our new citizens into our shire," Mayor Andrew Whitehead said.

Council would like to congratulate the 2025 Australia Day Community Award winners, new citizens, volunteers, and community groups involved in the delivery of the events.

Award winners across the shire were:

Berringa Peninsula: Citizens of the Year: Annette Goldsworthy, Vivian Smith **Community Group of the Year:** Bethanga & District Golf Club

Corryong: Citizens of the Year: Kate Wheeler Community Event of the Year: Corryong Show

Mitta Valley: Citizen of the Year: Ross Hodgkin Senior Citizen of the Year: Janet Duncan Junior Citizen of the Year: Ethan Wilson Community Service Group of the Year: SES Mitta Mitta

Tallangatta: Citizen of the Year: Lucy-Anne Cobby Community Group of the Year: The Annual Tallangatta Show

Walwa/Jingellic: Citizen of the Year: Hayden Drummond Business of the Year: Walwa Riverside Caravan Park Community Group of the Year: Walwa Community Shop

Australian Citizens: Congratulations to Adewale Adebowale, Oliver Del Rosario, Joanne Devlin, Julie Mabasa, and Sylvia Montgomery on officially becoming Australian Citizens.